The last day of HIFF 2012 kicks off at 12:00PM-Noon at the Bus Stop Theatre with the fantastic “Recent Works from the Toronto Animated Image Society (TAIS)” This program was curated for HIFF by Tais’ Madi Piller.

$5 Students & Seniors/$7 General

Formed in 1984, The Toronto Animated Image Society is a not-for-profit, artist-run organization. Over the past 25 years, TAIS has encouraged the exchange of information, facilities, ideas and aesthetics within Toronto’s animation community through events, screenings, workshops, and art exhibitions. The TAIS membership is made up of independent and professional animators, educators, enthusiasts and artists.

How To Get The Girl (dir. Ashlyn Anstee, 2011, Canada, 2:53 min.)

Ooh La La (dir. Sharon Kate, 2011, Canada, 1 min.)

Wolves (dir. Rafael Sommerhalder, 2011, Switzerland, 3:59 min.) 

The Manifesto Edition (dir. Rune & Erik Eriksson, 2010, Norway, 10 min.)

Sorry Film Not Ready (dir. Janet Perlman, 2010, Canada, 1 min.)

Fitting In | (dir. Taylor Annistte, 2011, Canada, 2:34 min.)

Spirit of the Bluebird (dir. Xstine Cook & Jesse Gouchey, 2011, Canada, 5:45 min.)

Counting Sheep (dir. Neely Goniodsky, 2010, Canada, 5:30 min.)

Paso Doble (dir. Jamie Metzger, 2011, Canada, 4:49 min.)

Fester Goes Fishing (dir. Aaron Long, 2011, Canada, 6:41 min.)

The Socking Truth (dir. Liza Leung, 2011, Canada, 1:59 min.)

URS (dir. Moritz Mayerhofer, 2010, Germany, 10 min.)

Something Left, Something Taken (dir.  Max Prter & Ru Kuwahata, 2011, USA, 10:13 min.)

Tara’s Dream (dir. Patrick Jenkins, 2011, Canada, 1 min.)

At 2:00PM join us for a  rare chance to view in films Halifax from the Robert Flaherty Film Seminar ” The Artist and The Process ” is presented by our friends at CFAT – The Centre for Art Tapes and screens at the Bus Stop Theatre.

$5 Students & Seniors/$8 General

The Robert Flaherty Film Seminar is the longest continuously running film event in North America. Named after Robert Flaherty (Nanook of the North, Man of Aran, Louisiana Story) who is considered by many to be the father of documentary film, the seminar began in 1955 when Flaherty’s widow convened a group of filmmakers, critics, curators, musicians, and other film enthusiasts at the Flaherty farm in Vermont. The four films featured are selections from the seminar series over the years.

The Artist and the Computer, Lillian F. Schwartz (USA, 1980, 11 min)

Pixillations, Lillian F. Schwartz  (USA, 1970, 4 min)

U.F.O.s, Lillian F. Schwartz  (USA, 1971, 3 min)

From Zero, Frank Scheffer (Netherlands, 2011, 60 min)

HIFF is delighted to be presenting its first showcase of experimental works by local filmmakers with the 4:00PM program  “Where Love Is… Recent Experimental Works from Atlantic Canada”. This screening will take place at the Bus Stop Theatre.

$5 Students & Seniors/$7 General

From the transgressive to the sentimental, this program presents a diverse collection of innovative experimental work made by artists living in the Maritimes. Found footage is folded, layered and thrown into the wind in Jenna Marks’ Love, Nature and Collage, while Jeremy MacDonald maps out an apocalyptic archive from discarded VHS tapes in Living Artifacts. Slick digital technologies are used in David Clark and Nick Rudnicki’s kinetic dance splash-fest Bodies of Water and Lukas Hug’s animation Where is the Love . These films are followed by fragile 16mm hand-processed landscape films by Phil Wolfe (Excited States) and Herb Theriault (Earthbound). Courtney Kelsey and Zach Barkhouse’s West of Neverfail is a graceful observational portrait of tugboat operators in the Port of Halifax. Greg Jackson continues this exploration of space and place with a fusion of new and old technologies in Halloween 1977. The Program concludes with the jarring, low-fi tour de force Buggery by Winston De Giobbi, a shocking, innovative trash film from an exciting new voice from Nova Scotia’s underground film scene.

Love, Nature and Collage (dir: Jenna Marks, Nova Scotia, 2011, 2:40 min.)

Where is the Love? (dir: Lucas Hug, Nova Scotia, 1:45 min.)

Bodies of Water (dir. David Clark & Nick Rudnicki, 2012, Nova Scotia, 3:30 min.)

Living Artifacts (dir: Jeremy MacDonald, Nova Scotia, 7:50 min.)

Excited States (dir: Phil Wolfe, Nova Scotia, 5:00 min.)

Palimpsest (dir. Danny Boos, Nova Scotia, 5:00 min.)

Earthbound (dir: Herb Theriault, 2012, 2:30 min.)                                                    

West of Neverfail (Dir: Courtney Kelsey & Zach Barkhouse, Nova Scotia, 13:47 min.)

Halloween 1977 (dir: Greg Jackson, Nova Scotia, 2:00 min.)

Buggery (dir. Winston DeGiobbi, Nova Scotia, 2011, 27:21 min.)

HIFF Closing screening is 7:00PM’s “Tom Sherman – Positioning Art in the Culture of Messaging” at the Bus Stop Theatre. Tom Sherman is a naturalist of media environments. His current research examines the erosion of the vitality of art in cultures dominated by messaging (texting, voice messaging, instant messaging, e-mail and social-networking). How does one go about making messages that stick—that have residual effects–in an era of message abundance and disposability? If it is true that the future is all around us in the present moment, then part of the answer is determined through a speculation on the economies of attention, experience and existence. Q&A with the artist will follow this screening, which is presented by CFAT – The Centre for Art Tapes.

$5 Students & Seniors/$8 General

Half/Lives (2001, 8 min.)

Talking to Nature (2002, 3 min.)

World of Strangers (2006, 3 min.)

Michael Swim’s Catch (2011, 10 min.)

Wrestling with language (2010, 2 min.)

Hyperventilation 2011 (2011, 9 min.)

At the end of it all, is HIFF 2012’s Closing Reception featuring the band Windom Earle. The fun begins at 9:00PM at the Bus Stop Theatre.  Come join us for nibblies and drinks to celebrate the conclusion of another amazing, engaging, and spirited HIFF!

Windom Earle is a collective of friends and musicians who play a mixture of instrumental new wave synth pop and indie rock. Currently based out of the North End in Halifax, Windom Earle is comprised of Stephan MacLeod (guitar), Brad MacDougal (drums), Matt Pollard (bass), Nathan Pilon (sax), James O’Toole (guitar), and Jen Clarke (synth).

$5 Suggested Donation.

%d bloggers like this: